Sun Yat-sen University

Medical University

Sun Yat-sen University, founded by Dr. Sun Yat-sen and with an educational tradition spanning over 100 years, is a preeminent research, academic and cultural center and the premier location for talent development in South China. Under the direct supervision of the Ministry of Education of the People’s Republic of China, and strongly supported by both the Ministry and Guangdong Province, Sun Yat-sen University has developed into a modern comprehensive university that enjoys a reputation as a top-tier university nationally and a renowned university internationally. With five campuses in the three cities of Guangzhou, Zhuhai and Shenzhen, and ten affiliated hospitals, the University is striving to become a world-class university and global center of learning.
One of the predecessors of the Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Science was the Pok Tsai Medical School, which, founded in 1866, was the earliest institution of learning of western medicine in China, where Sun Yat-sen once studied and engaged in revolutionary activities. The Pok Tsai Medical School evolved into the College of Medicine of Lingnan University in 1936. The Kung Yee Medical School and Hospital in Guangzhou (Canton) was founded in 1908. In 1925, the Kung Yee institutions were taken over by the government and became the Medical Department of the National First Sun Yat-sen (Zhongshan) University.[11] In 1953, the Colleges of Medicine in Sun Yat-sen University and Lingnan University merged to form the College of Medicine of South China, which was joined by the Guangdong Guanghua College of Medicine in 1954. The university was renamed Guangzhou College of Medicine and Sun Yat-sen College of Medical Science successively, and finally Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Science in 1985, which has developed steadfastly into a comprehensive medical university with multi-schools and multiple levels, has reached national advanced level and achieved remarkable successes in scientific research in medical genetics, ophthalmology, tumor study, parasite study, the kidney disease of internal medicine, organ transplant, infectious liver disease, biological medical project and molecular medical science. In 2001, Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Science merged with Sun Yat-sen University and became Sun Yat-sen College of Medical Science.
Built on a solid multidisciplinary foundation of humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medical sciences, and engineering, Sun Yat-sen University is propelled forward by the continuous pursuit of academic innovation. The University is equipped with a globally aware outlook, and has dedicated itself to being an institution that is “comprehensive, innovative, and open”. The University adheres to the socialist orientation of higher education, focusing on the fundamental task of nurturing virtue and talents. The goal of talent cultivation is to nurture students who have both ability and moral integrity, able to cultivate charisma and eager to serve their country. The basic guiding philosophy is to be oriented toward academic frontiers, oriented toward national major strategic needs, and oriented toward national and regional economic and social development. The coordinated development of five campuses in the three cities of Guangzhou, Zhuhai and Shenzhen will jointly support the development of the entire University. The University is pushing forward the transformation from external development to internal development, the transformation from routine development to active development, and the transformation from a university with discrete advantages in humanities, social sciences, natural sciences and medical sciences to a university where humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, medical sciences and engineering can integrate and develop while retaining their distinctive characteristics. Now, standing at a new starting point, Sun Yat-sen University strives to enter both the national first-tier of universities and the ranks of world-class elite universities, building a first-class socialist university with Chinese characteristics.

Its Glorious History

There are not many great figures in the world, and schools founded by the great figures are even fewer. We are proud that, however, Sun Yat-sen University is one of such schools. It was founded in 1924 by Dr. Sun Yat-sen (Zhongshan being his alias), the great leader of the Chinese democratic revolution. Its original name was Guangdong University. In 1926, it was renamed Sun Yat-sen University in memory of its founder. Approved by the Central Government of China, on October 26, 2001, the former Sun Yat-sen University and the former Sun Yat-sen University of Medical Sciences were merged into a new Sun Yat-sen University.

Its academic strength

Sun Yat-sen University is one of the key universities directly under the Ministry of Education of China and it is also a multi-disciplinary tertiary institution achieving the state projects of “985” and “211”, ranking as one of the leading universities in China and at the top in South China. Sun Yat-sen University offers an extensive range of curricula covering the fields of natural science, humanities, social science, medical sciences, technology and managerial science. There are 32 schools or colleges and 5 departments directly under the university. At the undergraduate level, courses are offered in 102 subject areas; at the graduate level, Master’s degrees are conferred in 251 subject areas and doctorates in 180. Currently, there are 30 postdoctoral programs and the student body totals over 84,600, of whom over 32,000 are working for their bachelor degrees, nearly 13,000 for their Master’s degrees and nearly 4,400 for their doctorate’s degrees. The other categories of students are early up to 35,951. The number of faculty members and administrators is over 12,500, among whom 1,046 are professors and 1,694 associate professors.

Its Good Facilities

The University boasts excellent facilities and offers satisfactory services. There are special international student dormitory buildings on the Guangzhou South Campus and the Guangzhou North Campus. At present, the international students studying on the Guangzhou East Campus and the Zhuhai Campus have to live in the same dormitory buildings with the Chinese students. On each Campus, there are modern sports facilities including a stadium, swimming pools, tennis courts, volleyball grounds, a gymnasium and so on. The four Campuses all have libraries and computer networks. The University possesses a collection of more than 4,500,000 volumes of books, together with 15,000 kinds of periodicals, and provides on-line international retrieval service.



Make sure to keep all your documents are updated and prompt.We will be helping you out in handling the documents.